4 Comments
author

I (fortunately sounds like) missed the McKibben-Kolbert bit on plastic. Both are powerful voices for the health of the planet, it's a shame their message was overwhelmed by being over-produced.

I did see the FUNGI panel discussion, which was also a bit disappointing. But I will go back and re-read my notes and extract some useful bits. Sheldrake is right out of Harry Potter--a very elfin caricature of a prodigy with a single-track reality. I do not share their grand hope of Nature 2.0 where we have all washed evil out of our systems with mushroom porridge.

I have heard good things about Entangled Life. Father Rupert's book: you'll need to dumb it down for me. Glad you gave a look-see. I'm never shy about walking away if after a few minutes, the zoom event seems a dead end.

Expand full comment

followers of this substack will be interested to know that Merlin Sheldrake has a brother Cosmo, a musician who has a posting on youtube singing his song "The Tardigrade Song" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCkSr0ugTIM

Expand full comment
author

Wow. The Sheldrakes are an interesting lot! The lyrics are sung in English but I missed bits. The lyrics that go with the youtube are in Dutch. They do not readily translate into full sentences. I will, however, see tardigrades forevermore in any shrubbery anywhere.

Expand full comment

Hey Fred,

I attended both of these webinars. The Fungi webinar was over my head with discussions of interacting viruses and fields. Merlin Sheldrake was a charismatic speaker, but his ideas are somewhat nutty. To learn more, I have bought his book “Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Future”. In the process of finding his book, I discovered that he is the son of Rupert Sheldrake who has written a book “Morphic Resonance: The Nature of Formative Causation” which sounded interesting, so I bought it as well. This is a remarkable family. Thanks for bringing the webinar to my attention.

The webinar on plastics was tiresome with a rerun of old ideas. The host seemed to enjoy talking, taking 15 minutes for a long-winded introduction. It is time to get more inventive with this problem. Perhaps starting with a plastic bag fee as approved by the state and now used in Roanoke. Or work towards a biodegradable bag.

I will be interested in your reaction.

David

Expand full comment