2 Comments
author

Viruses are not even "alive" and yet can deal so much misery to the living cells, organs and organisms they call home. You have had more than your share of experience with them!

Expand full comment

Really interesting - thank you. Covid climbed aboard in mid July for only a short visit, but the lingering effects have presented some changes in my normal habits. One is the inability to read long narratives -- after only a few sentences, my brain sort of glazes over with disinterest - such a change from my lifetime of cherishing the written word. The attention for working on a memory card full of photos is also quickly dulled. For the first time in my life, I transfer the files to the computer and seek the best of the batch and dump the rest in the 'pending' section! In October and then in November I've had two 'almost fainting' spells, when my blood sugar/blood pressure dropped --- something that affected me when younger but I learned to manage by avoiding anything with MSG as well as dodging sweets. The only connection to this hyper sensitivity is to roll back to 'covid' - as these spells started after covid but had been absent from my life for about 20 years...

It's somewhat comforting to know that the covid virus side effects might be to blame, especially since my body has also experienced dengue twice and chikungunya as well.. It's saying, 'Please! No more viruses!'

Expand full comment