2 Comments

Fred, I wasn't a projectionist but I spent my early years in a movie theatres. I spent many years hanging out in the projection booths. In the theatre I considered home we had 4 of those monsters lined up behind glass windows. To get the optimal lighting, the adjustment of the rods was an art, with guides marked on that glass window. And as I recall, projectors were noisy.

But my "reel" memories revolve around the film itself... Our projection booth was about six stories up above the nosebleed seats in our upper balcony. And when new films arrived they came in aluminum "cans" of four reels each. These cans had wire handles for carrying. And carrying those cans up the many, many steps to the booth was one of my jobs in my teenage years... Trust me, a movie is (or was) a weighty subject.

Expand full comment
author

Colorful memories, Gary. Also fine in black and white. <G>

Expand full comment